Capcom’s highly anticipated Monster Hunter: World is getting a beta for the Playstation 4. Releasing this January, the beta running this coming weekend will allow players both new and old to reacquaint themselves with the hunting tools and skills required to take down behemoths of all sizes.

Here’s when the beta will start and end:

  • Start Time: Dec 9, 2017 at 9:00am PT / 5:00pm GMT / 6:00pm CET / Dec 10, 2017 4:00am AEDT
  • End Time: Dec 12, 2017 at 8:59am PT / 4:59pm GMT / 5:59pm CET / Dec 13, 2017 3:59am AEDT

Players will also require a Playstation Plus subscription (a 14 day free trial is available on the psn store) and 5.9 GB of free space.

During the beta players will have access to 3 quests that span across 2 environments which Capcom has showcased through various gameplay demos and trailers. In the Ancient Forest players can choose to hunt two new monsters: the beginner-friendly Great Jargas and for the more experienced players, the mighty Anjanath.

Solo hunting a Great Jargas

Meanwhile in the Wildspire Waste, the game’s desert expanse mixed in with swamplands, is home to the muddy Barroth which many may remember from it’s introduction in Monster Hunter Tri for the Wii.

The return of an oldie

Completing each quest will net you rewards that will come in as useful bonus items in the full game! Just make sure to use the same Sony Entertainment Account (basically your PSN) for playing the beta and the full game.

Taking down an Anjanath

And as with all Monster Hunter games, these quests can be done solo or online with 3 other players. Hunting supplies aren’t a worry should you wish to grind these quests, as potions, rations and other needs will be provided during them. You’ll also have access to all 14 weapons types to suit your hunting style and can freely change between them during the quests at camp. Alternatively players have the option of testing them out before hand with the all new Training Room.

The new Training Room

And of course as with any beta, the quests available will merely provide a taste of the feel and look of what’s available in the full game. The game is still under development after all and some aspects of balance may be different from the full game. Monster Hunter: World will release on January 26, 2018 for PS4 and Xbox One with a PC release to be announced at a later date.

 

Video game and film enthusiast. Studying a Bachelor of Communications in Media Arts and Production along with International Studies at UTS. I play games in any genre, but mainly focus on CSGO and Tekken. I’m a fighting game aficionado and have met top players from both the Street Fighter and Tekken scenes. My other hobbies include reading, anime and learning the occasional song on guitar.