PUBG's third map has a new name and is now ready for testing

Sanhok’s the name, PUBG‘s the game. Player Unknown’s Battlegrounds developers gave us an update on the new map in a blog post on Tuesday.

Previously known under the Codename: Savage, Sanhok will be the third map to be introduced to the game. A smaller map than its two predecessors, Erengel and Miramar. Sanhok will only be 4×4 compared to the 8×8 size of the previous maps.

Recently, we had a look at some of the concept art for the new map when it was teased earlier in March. We touched on the plans of Brendan ‘Player Unknown’ Greene to make Miramar a 4×4 map instead of the 8×8 it ended up being. This smaller map will encourage more close quarter firefights and result in faster matches. The issue of running around and not encountering other players for the majority of the game will be less present.

New 4x4 Map Concept Art
New 4×4 Map Concept Art. Source: Twitter

We have now seen some more in-game screenshots of Sanhok in recent developer posts and Tweets. The inspiration for the map comes from Southeast Asian origins. PUBG’s development team travelled to Thailand earlier in the year to bring the map to life as accurate to the region as possible. Even the name is a combination of two Southeast Asian words, described by PUBG Corp in a post:

First, the Thai word for “fun:” สนุก (pronounced like “sah-nook”)
Second, the Filipino (Tagalog) word for “chicken:” manok (pronounced like “mah-nok”)

Combine the two and you get Codename: Savage’s new name: Sanhok (pronounced “sahnok”).

In-Game Screenshot from the new Southeast Asian Inspired Map, Sanhok
In-Game Screenshot from the new Southeast Asian Inspired Map, Sanhok. Source: Twitter

Experimental Test Server

Sanhok will still need some testing before it can be rolled out in the official game but that’s where we come in. The Experimental Test Server is now available to all those who own a copy of PUBG. Installing the server is done so like any other Steam game and should currently be visible in your Steam library.

The testing will begin tomorrow at 12 pm AEST and closes at 9 pm on Monday the 14th AEST. Oceanic servers, however, will not be available on the Experimental Test Server, much like the main Test Server. NA, EU and AS servers will be up but prepare for higher ping when using them.

SANHOK TESTING WINDOW

  • OPENS: May 10, 7pm PDT / May 11, 4am CEST / May 11, 11am KST
  • CLOSES: May 14, 4am PDT / May 14, 1pm CEST / May 14, 8pm KST

AVAILABLE QUEUES

  • Both TPP and FPP are available in all queues
  • NA, EU, AS: Solo/Duo/Squad

Go ahead and install the Experimental Test Server now, ready to launch it tomorrow to help the developers test out the new 4×4 map, Sanhok, and let us know what you think of it.